Nifty November Experiments

New month, new habits. My November experiments are ambitious in the sense that they both require taking time to do something every day, and as we all know, days can get surprisingly short as the holidays approach. But I have pretty strong intrinsic (#1) and extrinsic (#2) motivations, so that’ll help. Here’s to optimism and perseverance.

Experiments_Nov15

Drumroll for experiment #1: Do yoga every day. Either following along on Youtube (I love Yoga with Adriene and Fightmaster Yoga), going to a class, or freestyling things up by myself. I actually cheated and already started this experiment – I just got so excited about it. Plus, I figured it was a good way not to feel “meh” about myself going into winter, so I decided to put that momentum to good use. During the last two weeks, I only missed one day, and I love it. I feel so much better about myself, my body feels healthier, and I think my mind is quieter, too. And for the first time in my life, I did yoga without someone telling me which poses to do, but listening to my body and doing what felt necessary and right. Major yogi win.

Drumroll for experiment #2: Study at least 15 minutes of French ever day. I’m going to study abroad in France in the spring, and while I’m taking a medical French class and doing a tandem, I want to get my brain more into it. Either I speak, follow along with my online class, study vocab and grammar, or read French. Anything to get those brain cells used to a third language. And hopefully prevent nervous breakdowns on my first day in the hospital (hence the extrinsic motivation).

Are you starting any new habits in November? Check back on Monday for a review of October’s experiments! I know you’re dying to find out how eating slowly and the Minimalism Game went…

6 thoughts on “Nifty November Experiments

  1. How exciting to be studying in France. I was an au pair girl in Paris many moons ago. Such a wonderful city. Best of luck to you!

    No new habits for me in November. Just trying to keep up with the old ones. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’d love to be able to learn Spanish. I dabble with it ever so often but nothing consistent. I might have been more consistent and determined if I had the opportunity to travel to a Spanish speaking country!

    Like

Leave a Reply

